Grand Prix Anicolor 2016 Summary

The Águeda community was once again visited last August 14th for the Anicolor Grand Prix in cycling.

This stage was the last of the year in the calendar of the Cycling Portuguese Federation and it marked the end of The Portugal Cup for the categories Elite and Under 23, it was attended by about two hundred cyclists of various nationalities.

The 164 km of this stage were covered under intense heat, but that did not stop the people of Recardães, Espinhel, Fermentelos, Oiã, Barrô, Aguada de Baixo, Aguada de Cima, Borralha and Vouga Valongo to come out to the road and show their support to the cyclists. Exposing the enormous popularity that this magnificent sport has on the region.

The sinuous profile of the stage this year made it in two different circuits, one of five laps and the other with three laps, did not prevent a squad of 30 athletes to discuss the race on the last sprint.

César Fonte (Radio Popular Boavista) was the fastest, followed by Bruno Sancho (Anicolor) and Spaniard Daniel Lopez (Burgos BH).

Another Spaniard, Juan Ignacio Pérez (W52-FC Porto), who started this competition on the second place overall, found a way to get on the seventh position making 40 point which was more than enough to become the 2016 edition of the Cup of Portugal winner. Anicolor Gran Prix collectively was won by the team that has same name of the competition.

Alvaro Trueba (EFAPEL) imposed on the mountain and hot spots, while Caesar Martingil (Liberty Seguros / Carglass) won the flying targets and Daniel Lopez (SCP / Tavira) was the best young.

Click here to see the final results.